Lost at Full Tilt today

I’m on a 6 week poker break, but I had $28 left in my Full Tilt Poker account and I started playing for a bit last night. I played $25NL 6 max (but it was mostly HU and 3 or 4 handed play) for 10 minutes last night and won $15 bringing my BR to $43. Today I played for about 30 minutes while checking my emails.
Nothing much was going on. The game seemed quite weak. 3 players had VP$IP% of 35-50% and one player had an 80% VP$IP% (he went bust). I was using MacPoker Pro for the stats (a pokertracker like program). I don’t usually use poker tracking software while I play but I intend to do so in the future.

This is the hand I busted on:

Full Tilt Poker Game: Table (6 max) – $0.25/$0.50 – No Limit Hold’em
Seat 1: shaneomac88 ($53.35)
Seat 2: Hero ($22.75)
Seat 3: Bream88 ($56.45)
Seat 4: Ikin ($56.30)
Seat 5: lucaswv ($72.85)
Seat 6: bisell ($50)
Ikin posts the small blind of $0.25
lucaswv posts the big blind of $0.50
The button is in seat #3
*** HOLE CARDS ***
Dealt to Hero [9c Th]
shaneomac88 folds
Hero raises to $1.75
Bream88 folds
Ikin raises to $3
lucaswv: bisell are you a fish?
lucaswv folds
Hero calls $1.25
*** FLOP *** [Qh 2s 5s]
Ikin bets $3
Hero calls $3
*** TURN *** [Qh 2s 5s] [Qd]
Ikin bets $3
Hero raises to $16.75, and is all in
Ikin calls $13.75
Hero shows [9c Th]
Ikin shows [7h 7d]
*** RIVER *** [Qh 2s 5s Qd] [3c]
Hero shows a pair of Queens
Ikin shows two pair, Queens and Sevens
Ikin wins the pot ($43.70) with two pair, Queens and Sevens
lucaswv: lol
Hero is sitting out
lucaswv: nh
*** SUMMARY ***
Total pot $46 | Rake $2.30
Board: [Qh 2s 5s Qd 3c]
Seat 1: shaneomac88 didn’t bet (folded)
Seat 2: Hero showed [9c Th] and lost with a pair of Queens
Seat 3: Bream88 (button) didn’t bet (folded)
Seat 4: Ikin (small blind) showed [7h 7d] and won ($43.70) with two pair, Queens and Sevens
Seat 5: lucaswv (big blind) folded before the Flop
Seat 6: bisell is sitting out

Thought’s about the hand. Clearly Ikin is weak with his block betting. His VP$IP% is 35%. I thought he probably had big cards that missed (eg AK) or a lower pocket pair that I thought there was a good chance he would fold. He calls and I bust.
Preflop I played a bit loose, raising T9o in EP. I was getting impatient.

Overall though I think the play at FT is weaker than I expected it to be. I used to think that the $25NL and $50NL FT players were all great players, but the game is actually much weaker than I expected.
I still feel though I can win more BB/100 hands (or per hour) playing $200NL on the PokerRoom network.

1 Comment

Filed under Ring Games, Short-handed

One response to “Lost at Full Tilt today

  1. Pingback: Didn't have the hammer « PokerLife Blog

Leave a Reply

