Didn’t have the hammer

I was thinking about the hand I busted with at Full Tilt (my previous post). I think the reason I didn’t get a fold from my opponent is because I didn’t have “the hammer”. I’m not used to playing short stacked. I only had about 55 big blinds to start the hand with. I had $25 extra in my stack, then I think my opponent may have folded to my turn raise.

The threat of me putting in a $25 bet on the river may have caused him to fold on the turn. This is known as “the hammer”. Ed Miller talks about it in No Limit Hold ’em: Theory and Practice (written with David Sklansky). The threat of the rest of one’s opponent putting in the rest of his stack is a powerful weapon.

I did not have this weapon and therefore it was an easy call for him.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Ring Games, Short-handed

Leave a Reply

