WSOP update

Francois Saffieddine wins Event 19, $2500 No-Limit Hold’em.

I’m surprised he won. A few hours before I read this hand:

Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier raises pre-flop to $75,000 and Safieddine calls from the big blind. The flop comes 7d, 4d, 2h and Saffieddine moves all-in. Grospellier makes the call and shows Kh, 3h. Saffieddine has Qd, 2d. The turn comes 10d and the river is 2c. Saffieddine has a flush and Grospellier has a lot less chips.

I’m surprised at how badly the hand was played by Grospellier. Was there more to the hand? Was Saffieddine really short stacked? It doesn’t look like it since it says, “Grospellier has a lot less chips”. Maybe Grospellier thought it was a bluff – but even then Saffieddine could have a flush draw, ace-high or a low pair. I don’t know what’s going on.

Grospellier actually got knocked out shortly after as follows:

Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier pushes all-in for $240,000 with 3h, 2h. Devin Porter makes the call with Ad, Js and the flop comes 10d-5c-5s meaning Porter is still in the lead but Grospellier has a straight draw. The dealer burns and turns a 2c meaning “ElkY” has two-pair. The river spells doom for Grospellier, however, as it is Ac. Grospellier is gone.

Maybe Grospellier likes his hearts? lol. I’m guessing that Grospellier is really short stacked and/or is trying to steal the blinds in this hand.

Humberto “the Shark” Brenes came 7th in this event.

Greg Raymer finished in 4th in Event 20, $2000 Seven-Card Stud Hi-Lo Eight-or-Better. He took home $41,460. Ryan Hughes won the bracelet and $176,358.

In Event 21, $1500 No-Limit Hold’em Shootout, Daniel Negreanu finished in 3rd place. Erick Lindgren finished in 8th place – eliminated by the eventual winner Don Baruch.

That’s all for today. I’ll be back tomorrow with more news.

PS – I did alright in my Mechanics today. I think I got about 85%. I’m not delighted with that, but it’s not bad. I just have super high standards. I need less than 30% in my last maths exam to get an A. All is good.

4 Comments

Filed under General, Poker, WSOP

4 responses to “WSOP update

  1. jcap1p

    I know that we don’t really have any history with these hands, but I don’t care what happens, you can’t call a King High on that of all flops, If opponent has the Trump Ace, then King-high is drawing to 6 outs.

  2. I agree with you.
    I think more likely is that the source for the hand history is wrong. And Grospellier did connect with the board in some way.

    It would also be correct to call if he had massive odds.

  3. Thknas for taking the time to post. It’s lifted the level of debate

  4. Hallelujah! I needed this-you’re my savior.

Leave a Reply

