Don’t bluff idiots and don’t show your cards!

I’ve lost so much money in the past from trying to bluff idiots off a hand. I did manage to bluff 2 idiots off a hand today though.

Both players were seeing over 40% of flops and the big blind was folding more than a player of his looseness usually does postflop.

Here it is:

Party Poker – No Limit Hold’em Cash Game – $2/$4 Blinds – 4 Players – (LegoPoker HH Converter)

SB: $310.46

BB: $831.70

UTG: $289.80

Hero (BTN): $689.30

Preflop: Hero is dealt 6 5 (4 Players)

UTG checks, Hero raises to $18.00, SB calls $16.00, BB raises to $50.00, UTG folds, Hero calls $32.00, SB calls $32.00

Flop: ($154) 2 7 9 (3 Players)

SB checks, BB bets $40.00, Hero calls $40.00, SB calls $40.00

Turn: ($274) T (3 Players)

SB checks, BB checks, Hero checks

River: ($274) 4 (3 Players)

SB checks, BB checks, Hero bets $221.00, 2 folds

Uncalled bet of $221.00 returned to Hero

Pot Size: $274.00

I showed my bluff to these 2 donkeys so that I could get more action off them in the future (another “mistake”). I did get more action on this hand winning a very big pot against a very weak hand (BB is the same player in both hands):

Party Poker – No Limit Hold’em Cash Game – $2/$4 Blinds – 6 Players – (LegoPoker HH Converter)

SB: $390.00

BB: $687.30

UTG: $355.00

Hero (MP): $787.20

CO: $458.30

BTN: $117.96

Preflop: Hero is dealt K K (6 Players)

UTG folds, Hero raises to $15.00, 3 folds, BB raises to $26.00, Hero raises to $100.00, BB raises to $174.00, Hero raises to $350.00, BB raises all-in to $687.30, Hero calls $337.30

Flop: ($1376.60) 2 2 5 (2 Players – 1 All-In)

Turn: ($1376.60) 4 (2 Players – 1 All-In)

River: ($1376.60) J (2 Players – 1 All-In)

Pot Size: $1,376.60 ($3 Rake)

BB had Q A (a pair of Twos) and LOST (-$687.30)

Hero had K K (two pairs, Kings and Twos) and WON (+$686.30)

In general I don’t show my hands. Lucky I did in this instance though. He probably wouldn’t have played his hand so aggressively if I hadn’t shown my bluff a few hands earlier.

When I do show bluffs (which I do rarely), it is to satisfy my ego. In this scenario I knew that I was playing 2 donkeys and I did it purely to get more value off them in the future (which I did).

I got in a nice couple of hours of play tonight winning about $1000, although I’m disappointed I didn’t win more. I lost a coinflip to another donkey in an $750 pot where we got allin on the flop.

4 Comments

Filed under Hand Histories, Poker, Ring Games, Short-handed

4 responses to “Don’t bluff idiots and don’t show your cards!

  1. Guy put in the 6th raise with AQ?

    I can’t think that’s really because of your image. It’s just terrible poker.

  2. true, but I think he may have just called with his AQ if I hadn’t bluffed him before.
    i don’t know if the bluff did have an impact on the hand, but i think it did.

    in general, you should not show your hands and you should definitely not bluff donkeys like this. i just couldn’t resist this time.

    in the long run, bluffing donk’s in big pots like this is definitely -EV.

  3. FWIW, I show some of my bluffs, because they’re few and far between. I multi-table, so I don’t have a lot of room in my game to run big bluffs. Therefore, I’m almost always going to have a hand the next time I show up in a pot with the guy.

    But if the pot was small, or the guy is totally oblivious, I don’t bother.

    Also, I really don’t like your bluff in the first hand. Especially against donkeys, but really against anyone. I can’t envision the hand you’re trying to represent. I’d call that with a really wide range. I think it would have played better on the turn, or even the flop. When you flat call with the SB still acting behind you, you’re not really coming off as strong.

  4. Right, I need to work on this part of my game more. Making bluffs look realistic rather than just sensing weakness and attacking.

    I think against donk’s though it doesn’t matter how I’ve played the hand. I think all that matters here is that they don’t have a nine, ten or overpair.

    Given how the action has gone, it should be very unlikely that they have 1 of these hands. Do you really call with a wide range of hands in this spot? Calling with a 9 is quite gutsy. Calling with 88 or lower is extremely gutsy.

    I could always just be a donk and this is how I’ve played my 2 pair, set, straight, etc. They don’t know enough about me.

Leave a Reply

