Lost $2.5k in 50 minutes!

What a blow!

As soon as I started the session I wasn’t really feeling it. I was playing 4 tables of $600NL but from the start I wasn’t in the zone. I probably shouldn’t have played, but I did and things didn’t go too well.

Even though I lost all this money today in such a short space of time – I don’t feel like I was outplayed or outmatched. I feel like a fed the fish a lot of money today. Money that the poker community and I will win back in the future.

I might post some hands later. One hand that really pissed me off was when I thought someone was bluffing but hit a miracle turn and stacked me. There was a lot of meta game going on.

This is how went:

A few orbits earlier he had checkraised me on a flop of J84r or similar. I folded, but he could have been bluffing. It is the perfect flop to bluff on. If you try playing back on a 557 flop, people might suspect you of bluffing, but on a J84r flop, it’s a very weak flop, but a lot of people won’t realize that it is such a harmless flop, so you’ll have to fold if you missed, because it is unlikely they are check-raise bluffing.

Anyway, a few hands later the situation is reversed. He is the preflop aggressor in position. I have 44. I auto-check a similar Jxx flop. He continuation bets. I raise to 3x his bet. He then thinks for a bit and makes minimum reraise. Maybe I should have pushed here and gone with my read, but I thought I’d wait till the turn to make a push. I didn’t realize how big the pot and how short our stacks were, so maybe I should have 4bet pushed here, but I don’t know if I had the guts to go with my feeling.

Anyway, I call. Turn is a ten. I check. He bets a bit under half pot (which is also half his stack). I push for a small bit more. He calls. He had pocket tens and hit the miracle card. It’s annoying that my gut was right, but that turn card really sucked for me.

Also, when he did make that bet, I thought that he might now have a strong hand, but I decided to go with my read from the flop and push and hope for a fold. Alas, that didn’t happen and he takes 100bb and $600 off me. This player probably took about $1200-$1500 from me across 3 tables. I can’t wait to play him in the future because I know I’ll destroy him.

Another big pot he took off me was when we got allin for $500 each on a 9c7c4c flop. I had AcKo and he had 8c8o. He checkraised me allin on the flop and I called. It was a coinflip in which I actually had a slight edge. My outs didn’t come though and he won the hand.

3 Comments

Filed under Poker

3 responses to “Lost $2.5k in 50 minutes!

  1. Jay

    You are doing well mate, don’t let a Fish get you down. Keep playing your game. I started a new site other than Poker-Speak at http://www.nutspokerbonus.com if you want to, come check it out. I am going to write about SNG strategy.

    Peace

  2. thanks for the encouragement. i won a bit of it back that day so not too worried

  3. maillots coupe du monde 2014 france

Leave a Reply

